Monument Avenue 10K

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

So, the last post was a bit of a catch up post, but I didn’t include the 10K in it because I feel like it was such a large event that it deserves its’ own post.

The day started very, very early. I woke up at Eric, Chuck and Jessi’s apartment (known hereafter as 707), at 6:45 a.m. I walked from there to Monroe Park, which was about 1.8 miles. Having never been to Monroe Park before, let alone there on 10K day. I was a bit awestruck, but I saw some familiar faces there in the persons of Vic Dorr, fellow reporter who gave me some tips and an old acquantaince from high school who was working PR at the race, so that was a pleasant surprise.

My tasks at the race were:

1. Social media: I logged into the RTDSports account and was tweeting basically the entire time I was there, which was about 5 hours.

2. Dash for the Cash winner: Before the race, a runner is picked to run the “dash”, which means he gets about a 2 mile head start. If he finishes first, he gets $2,500. If the elite runners behind him catch him and finish before him, they get that money. Well, it was close but Pena did it, only finishing 12 seconds ahead of the 1st place runner. He was a great guy, very nice interview.

3. Dress Up and Run: RTD does a contest for people who dress up in crazy costumes and run the race. This year, a guy who dressed up with an Angry Birds theme won the individual/duo contest and 12 people dressed up as a bowling ball and bowling pins won the group one. It was pretty cool to talk to them as well. The girls who came in second place in the individual/duo were acting like they won the lottery when they found out they had gotten 2nd, that was great to see that kind of excitement.

4. Vignettes: I had to go around and find the feel good stories, people that have a story to share but it’s not enough for a full fledged article. So, I found 3 friends that only see each other at races like the 10K, a guy wearing a Kentucky jersey in the sea of VCU supporters and I used the story of the 2nd place individual/duo contest winners as my third vignette. I think they came out very well too.

I landed up leaving the race at about 11:30. I made it back to the 707 at 12, then had to take Cary St. to work, which too much longer, so I got there at 12:30. I got some food, which I hadn’t had all day, so that was a major need. Got everything I needed to do done and then headed back to the 707 and finally home.

It was a long, long day. I felt like I had run a 10K myself by the end of the day. But, I made it and everything came out great and that’s what matters.

On to another week!

Leave a Reply

