April 3, 2011

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

So, I realize that it’s been quite a while since I created the blog and since I’ve gotten a chance to write a new post. So, now seemed like just as good a time as any to go ahead and give an update here.

To say I’ve been busy is an understatement. Since I’ve started at the Times-Dispatch, I’ve written 5 articles and have had a lot of time in the office, answering phones and writing box scores.

However, to say that I’ve been having fun is also an understatement. Yes, it’s hard. Yes, there’s a significant learning curve. But this is what I went to school for and what I really want to do, at least at this point in my life, so I’m trying to soak it all in and enjoy it and make my mark.

The first article I wrote was about the local swim club in the area, NOVA, going to the championships in Orlando, FL. It wasn’t that bad of a write-up, I just had to make a few phone calls. However, what was probably the hardest thing about that article, and the articles subsequent to that one, is that ten inches in a story sounds like a lot. In reality, it’s really, really not. It goes really quick, but I’ve been trying to learn more about how to get my writing more succinct. So, while it was a shock at first, but it’s been a good teaching tool.

After that was the high school girl’s soccer preview, which is my spring sports beat. Pretty straightforward, just writing up what the coaches had sent in on preview sheets.

My next article was one  on Maddie Ward, a female hockey player that has to travel to Raleigh, NC to play because of a lack of a 16 and under team in the Richmond area. This was a great opportunity for me to get out and do a profile piece. I jumped on the chance.  She was a great interview and both she and her parents are incredibly nice people and were incredibly helpful. It turned out great.

Leave a Reply

