“And the pitch…”

Posted: March 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

Greetings! If you’ve stumbled across this blog it’s for one of two reasons:

1. You know who I am and enjoy reading my thoughts.

2. You have no idea who I am, but think it’s a really cool idea what I’m doing here.

 

For those in the latter group, a brief introduction is in order. My name is Billy and I’m a 23-year-old resident of Richmond, VA. I went to school at Christopher Newport University where I found my calling my senior year in the form of the #commnerd family that was created in the Communication Studies department. Not only did I find my calling there, but I was sports editor for The Captain’s Log, the newspaper of Christopher Newport University. There, with my assistant sports editor Cassie, I created and edited a weekly sports page for the weekly paper. We also worked in the multimedia wing of the paper, known as CNU TV, and created “Overtime” a video-report of all the happenings of the Captains.

I graduated in May of 2010 and found all these opportunities in front of me. With that came quite a lot of stress as well as decisions to be made. I started throwing my resume and applications out anywhere I could. Eventually, in October of 2010, I had an interview with the Sports desk at the Richmond Times-Dispatch. Long story short, I was hired in March of 2011 and this past week has been my first week at RTD.

Sports has been a passion of mine quite literally since I was born. Writing has been a passion of mine since as far back as I can remember. It seemed quite appropriate to merge the two together and make a career out of it and that’s exactly what I have set out to do.

So, this blog is a living memory device of what I have learned in my first week and what I hope to experience in the coming weeks/months/years of employment.

Please feel free to leave any comments along the way and let me know what you think about my journey!! I will try and post any helpful hints and tips to any budding journalists out there!

Comments
  1. First comment ever. #REDHEADWINS

    Great job getting the blog set up!

Leave a Reply

